Thursday Night


IMG_0001-XLIt’s been a long day.  I’m sore and I ache.  It’s hell getting old and it’s a long ways  down to the decking when I bend over. I almost always manage to get cut or get a blood blister and get a scrape or get some sort of boo-boo when I work on projects such as these.  I got my left knee today.  It will be sore in the morning and will let me know that it’s not happy.

I got a lot of progress despite me deciding on making a last minute change.  That will cost me another trip to my store of dreams but no worries, right?  I kept hearing Pappy Davis talking to me and telling me to slow down and measure twice.  I’ll finish up in the morning, put everything away and give the deck a good cleaning.  That will start to get it ready for stain in a couple weeks.

But that’s all set aside for the rest of the night.  I’m sitting here listening to the traffic go by and to my ever faithful chickadees as feed and and sing their “dee-dee-dee” song.   I’m fascinated with watching them socialize by the feeders.

22 thoughts on “Thursday Night”

  1. Nice deck 🙂
    We now use wider boards to the wooden deck. It is quicker to add and becomes more stable and last longer. The maintenance is the same 🙂
    “Pling”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just think how good it will feel when you are finished. That sense of accomplishment will make you forget about your knee 🙂 And now the deck will be safer because you would get hurt a whole lot worse if you fell through. xo

    Liked by 2 people

    1. no. Pappy Davis was an older gentleman that I worked with back when I was fresh out of high school. it was amazing what he knew about in the carpentry and building trades.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I hear that same “dee-dee-dee” song. I get lots of chickadees in the tree outside my window. I love those little birds. At one time the pigeons took over and chased them all away so it was quite an ordeal getting rid of the pigeons to make room for these little guys. The pigeons take over everything and poo on everything, I love all birds,but they can drive me a little crazy if they set up house on my patio. Consider yourself lucky you don’t have that problems. 🙂
    Be careful now.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.