Sunday Morning


i-9BdL8gX-XL

I am one tired cat this morning.  This is the one day that I typically dread; the day after returning home from vacation.  There’s laundry to do, stuff to put away, house cleaning to do, etc, etc.  I’ve already got 13,000 steps in and it’s not 10:00 AM yet.  Then to top it all off, I managed to end up with a “coach cold” being in that crowded bus.  I forgot to plan for that.  Oops!

It was a good trip tho all-in-all and I think I’m over touring Germany for now.  Not that I don’t like being there because I do and I meet a good number of wonderful people there. But it is time to expand my horizons and go to places that I haven’t been to before.  Life is short and travel reminds me that we’re all children of one Earth.

Now I just have to get motivated to clean that icky bad white stuff off of my deck so I can do some maintenance with the bird feeders.

Art Sunday: Haddon Sundblom – Coca-Cola Santa


Screen-Shot-2013-11-25-at-7.03.53-PM

Haddon Hubbard “Sunny” Sundblom (June 22, 1899 – March 10, 1976) was an American artist of Finnish and Swedish descent and best known for the images of Santa Claus he created for The Coca-Cola Company. He used his own image for the famous Santa.

Sundblom is best remembered for his advertising work, specifically the Santa Claus advertisement.It was he who drew Santa Claus in a red suit during the twenties and he painted for The Coca-Cola Company starting in 1931. Sundblom’s Claus firmly established the larger-than-life, grandfatherly Claus as a key figure in American Christmas imagery. So popular were Sundblom’s images of Claus (Sundblom’s images are used by Coca-Cola to this day) that Sundblom is often credited as having created the modern image of Santa Claus.

According to the Coca-Cola company: “For inspiration, Sundblom turned to Clement Clarke Moore’s 1822 poem “A Visit From St. Nicholas” (commonly called “‘Twas the Night Before Christmas”). Moore’s description of St. Nick led to an image of Santa that was warm, friendly, pleasantly plump and human. For the next 33 years, Sundblom painted portraits of Santa that helped to create the modern image of Santa – an interpretation that today lives on in the minds of people of all ages, all over the world.”

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haddon_Sundblom