Glamour Shot


I’ve been observing what appears to me to be a goodly number of glamour shots on individual Gravatar pics.  You know the ones that I’m talking about.

  • They look like they’re ready to hop into some expensive foreign sports car and drive off towards Hollywood and Vine.
  • They have that wind blowing thru their hair look as they’re ready to jet off to some distant and foreign land like Nepal or off on some African safari.
  • They have that scholarly “I’m an accomplished writer”  look and this is the pic that’s on the paper jacket of my latest book.
  • I’m a 20 – 30 something and I have the world by the balls” look.

Don’t misconstrue what I’ trying to say here.  I’d never attempt to take away from or play down someone’s accomplishments.  Hey, more power to them for their hard work and efforts.  I’m just saying … well … hmmmm … what am I trying to say?

I’ll never pass for a 20 or 30 something and I’m definitely not a jet setter or one of the beautiful people.  I’m never gonna be an accomplished writer and if I were I think my jacket photo would look more like “Fred down the street” versus Garrison Keillor.  I think I need to upgrade my image to something more mature like Gary Cooper or Cary Grant or Clark Gable or Gene Kelly or Fred Astaire.

Yeh, Fred Astaire.  I bet my Gravatar would look good like that.  Now I just hafta work on my dance moves.

14cb5d7dd467f25cbc7e49555e6614da--film-blue-fred-astaire

35 thoughts on “Glamour Shot

  1. ““I’m a 20 – 30 something and I have the world by the balls” look.” LOL. I’ve never been able to pull that look off. And gravatar is just fine 🙂 But I’d like to see the vid of your new dance moves 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I knew that subtle humor was your calling. You should write more posts like this. I hate to say it, but my publisher wants me to get a “Glamour” shot for my book, for when it’s published. My only hopes are that I don’t look goofy, I act my age, look natural, and they don’t have to photo shop my face to make me look better.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think you should have one of those “non-plussed I look good cuz I’m French so f88K you and pees off” look shots. maybe a couple weeks in Paris at your publisher’s expense so you get the look that I’m talking about down pat. maybe take your wife or your girl friend. don’t tell your wife about your girl friend. I doubt she would understand why you were taking your girl friend to Paris instead of her. they tend to get a tad bit pissy about things like that.

      Like

      1. A Perfectmindstorm

        LOL I’m sure you will find the perfect avatar 😉 I’m kind of partial to the one you use now, but you have to be happy with your choice and I am sure Mr Potato Head would grow on me 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. A Perfectmindstorm

        Well here’s the thing, if you pick Gumby, then you will think like Gumby and be all bendy. I think you should pick Iron Man instead

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.