Looking out my back door this afternoon


i-xZFk3Nm-X2

So my weekend chores are done for this weekend and I’m sitting here listening to it rain outside.  It’s a nice rain.  One of those slow and steady ones that’s enough to water the garden and the the grass seed that I’ve put out.  I rolled the awning out a bit so I could keep the door open without all of the rain water splashing in thru the screen.

The breeze feels nice on sore and aching muscles.  I have some YouTube tunes playing while I sit here and try to relax.  I knew I was forgetting something and it took me a while to figure out that I didn’t bake any bread this weekend.  Hmmm.  I guess I’ll have to save that particular chore for an afternoon this week.  I’ll hafta write it down so I don’t forget again.

Forgetting the little things.  Yeh, I’m getting pretty good at that.  It causes me concern.  Well, I guess everything in its own time.  Guess I’ll just hafta open a bottle of wine and have a glass or two with my leftover Chinese and see where that takes me.

Danny’s World: Speed Racer! — Dream Big, Dream Often


Here is something that you may not know about me: I enjoy riding motorcycles. This is my Suzuki GSXR 750 and it is in perfect condition. This motorcycle handles really well at higher rates of speed and actually performs better the faster you go!

via Danny’s World: Speed Racer! — Dream Big, Dream Often

 

I can’t let Danny outdo me!!  Here’s a picture of my Cub Cadet.  It’s also in almost kinda sorta perfect shape.  And it also performs better the faster it goes. Yeh baby!  I think it gets up to an incredible 6 MPH!!  It sucks the breath right outa your body.  I get on this, fire it up and that Steppenwolf song “Born to Be Wild” goes thru my head.

Men like Danny and me like to live on the edge.  Make sure you visit his blog and give him a follow if you aren’t already.

IMG_1067

 

Art Sunday #134: Paul Nash – The Menin Road


1024px-Nash,_Paul_-_The_Menin_Road_-_Google_Art_Project

The Menin Road is a large oil painting by Paul Nash completed in 1919 that depicts a First World War battlefield. Nash was commissioned by the British War Memorials Committee to paint a battlefield scene for the proposed national Hall of Remembrance. The painting is considered one of the most iconic images of the First World War and is held by the Imperial War Museum.

The Menin Road depicts a landscape of flooded shell craters and trenches while tree stumps, devoid of any foliage, point towards a sky full of clouds and plumes of smoke, bisected by shafts of sunlight resembling gun barrels. Two soldiers at the centre of the picture attempt to follow the, almost, unrecognisable road but appear to be trapped by the landscape. Nash composed the picture in three broad strips. The foreground is filled with shell craters and debris, which block access to the road in the middle of the picture. The only possible path, to the side of one of the mud pools, is blocked by a fallen board. Across the centre of the picture, shell holes punch into the road at regular intervals, while debris further breaks up the road, as do the shadows from a line of trees alongside it. Beyond the trees, the battlefield stretches to the horizon, with a wood of stunted trees on the right hand side and to the left a series of seven zigzag streams, that also fail to reach the horizon and escape. Nash came to consider this painting to be his finest work.

Source:  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Menin_Road_(painting)