Saturday Afternoon


i-hftjq5z-xl

Today is my annual “Put away the last of the Christmas decorations and brave the cold to take down the outdoor lights” day at my place.  It’s nasty cold out there and all you can do if wrap up as best as you can and put on your snow boots.  That and take your time and to know when to get your tail back inside and out of the cold.

Besides, you don’t have to get everything done in one day.  That and there’s too much snow and ice on the roof and I’d more than likely break my neck if I attempt to take those down even if they do come off like a zipper opening.  Yo would suddenly hear a wild man scream and that would be me as I slid off the roof.  Not good for me.

It looks sorta bare and nekkid out there now that most of the lights are down.  We need some sort of winter fest or something along those lines to help light up the upcoming long and cold winter’s nights.  Anything.  It’s gonna be quite a while until Spring and warm weather returns to central Minnesota.

17 thoughts on “Saturday Afternoon

  1. I turned my lights off last night at midnight but didn’t take anything down or in because it was actually raining all day. I’m doing that tomorrow but I’m also putting plain white lights in the two lime trees in my large pots, keeping a green wreath on the door but with just white lights and hauling out the two all white deer I didn’t use when “HE” decided to go multi-color again for this year.

    After I take the red bows off the deer and spraying all the 12 bottles of fake “snow” all over the weeds that have grown up since the rain started and I’ll HAVE MY WINTER FEST. At least until the rains start up again.

    I too can’t stand the meagerness of the lack of lights. So I’m doing something about it; since I don’t live in a Snow Zone. giggle, giggle…..”HE” is not happy about the spray snow but what can he do? Love my ideas…but sort of hate having to do the work. At least the snow may kill off the gourmet salad that is now growing in my Sunny (most often) So. California yard.

    Take care tomorrow. ~~dru~~

    Liked by 2 people

  2. A Perfectmindstorm

    Here is what you do. You take your snow blower and blow it over to the house and make a big pile about 6 feel along the perimeter of the house so that way if you fall off the roof you land in the pile of snow and you probably won’t get hurt , at least not too badly. But you may not have quite enough snow there to do that so I think you need more snow so you can do that and then get all the lights off. Oh and you have to do it the same day you make the big piles of snow so it will still be soft, otherwise it will freeze and be hard and then you would get hurt and all that work would have been in vain…

    Don’t you love advice from a smart azz in Florida ? 😉 You’re welcome !

    Liked by 2 people

      1. A Perfectmindstorm

        But that could be months and months and then your lights will still be up in June and you will be one of those people who when someone drives by they say “that goofball was too lazy to take his lights down”

        Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.