New Year’s Day Evening


i-shcfjbm-xl

Well, another Christmas holiday season is at an end and it’s time for me to start packing things away.  I started with my Christmas star because I noticed that it had a bit of wear.  I suppose that it isn’t made to last forever since it is made from paper and this is the … wow! … the eighth year that I hung it from the front year.  Has it really been eight years since I bought it in Munich?  I guess so.  Time to find some replacements on-line.

So we’ll take down the tree and stow away the ornaments tomorrow and then start putting away other things as well.  The Nativity set stays out until the 5th tho.  You can blame that one on the nuns and an old superstition that I have laser etched in the back of my skull.  Actually I’d leave it all out until the 5th if I strictly adhered to it but let’s not get too carried away with it.

10 thoughts on “New Year’s Day Evening

    1. I guess it depends on how you were raised and where you are from. we traditionally took things down after the Feast of the Epiphany before Mom and Dad got divorced. then everything sorta fell by the wayside.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. A Perfectmindstorm

    Funny how much influence those nuns still have on us after all these years 🙂 I took everything down over the weekend including the nativity set as I am rebellious that way. Sister Robert Ann is probably rolling around in her grave. Hmmm, I wonder why so many of those nuns took male names ? I suppose I better not ponder that too much …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. portapatetcormagis

    Your early with putting things away Jim!
    Didn’t the nuns teach you that Catholic Christmas season lasts until Candlemas (2nd Feb)? That’s when the trees are taken down in church anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. portapatetcormagis

        We have those too and call them Rauhnächte. They’re full of traditions and customs and superstition and probably very pagan in their origin

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.