Thursday Night


i-r4kg9rc-xl

I bought a big boy camera for myself because I decided that I needed to spoil myself just because I could.  That and the year kinda sorta sucked and it definitely sucked in a bad way.  My oldest was curious about how her Dad was able to afford it and the answer she got back was “Don’t worry about it.  You have enough to worry about with two growing kids.  Dad was taking care of himself a long, long time ago.”  I know she didn’t like the response but sometimes I think the right answer is one that essentially tells you that maybe some things are best left for others to fret about.

It’s cold out there tonight.  I know it’s cold (and that icky bad white stuff is also coming down too) because some knucklehead forgot to check the bird bath when he got home for work.  Yeh, it was more than a tad bit low for water depth due to the wind and the cold, dry air.  I ran out for like all of 30 seconds or so but it sure felt like it was a lot longer.  The cold penetrated to the bone since I didn’t have a coat on.

So the day is almost over as I sit here and listen to the wind blow outside.  It even sounds cold as it rattles the house.  I think tomorrow will be a potato soup day to warm the cockles of my heart.

10 thoughts on “Thursday Night

    1. I’m overwhelmed by all of its controls and such. I guess one thing at a time and one step at a time. that and a lot of research and practice. my oldest wanted my T5i. I just have to be sure that she takes that one home instead of the new one. I know ow you girls are with your Dads.

      “Oh, I thought you said I could have this.”

      uh huh. yeh right.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s a Canon Rebel T3i. Google search “How to become a photographer” produces too many results : )
        Just kidding, I know I need to spend some time reading and experimenting. I’m off of work between Christmas and the New Year so I’ll put some time in then. I have the perfect model…she’s black and mahogany with brown almond shape eyes and walks on four legs.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It came with an instruction manual and a shoulder strap. Is that a kit? I also have a “DSLR for Dummies” that I have many times attempted to read but I start zoning out right around the aperture and white balance chapter. I really like your idea on “T3i basics” video search. Good idea!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. did it come with one lens or two? Canon likes to package so you have an 18-55 lens and a 70-300 lens. they’re good basic lenses from my experience.

        I guess I should but I don’t read the manuals. They’re too confusing for me. I prefer Googling questions and/or doing a search on YouTube. The biggest learning tool that I’ve discovered was just practice, practice, practice. That and a lot of trial and error. the beauty of the digital camera is you’re not wasting film to see where you went wrong. I’ll take something like 2,000+ pics when I go traveling out of which maybe 150 are worth keeping.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. which lens did it come with? a good multi purpose lens would be good but one can go lens happy buying lenses. I would Google “Best DSLR camera lenses for beginners” and go from there.

        Like

Comments are closed.