Five for Friday


fred-porter-goudy

1. Happy Veterans Day Grandpa!  We will have a lot of catching up to do one day.  I’m sure Uncle Fred will have some jokes too.

2. I have a hankering for a big ol’ cheeseburger for supper tonight.  That and some onion rings and big glass of ice tea to wash it all down.  I know it’s not healthy eating but I can use it after this week.

3. I found an excellent chicken pot pie recipe that I’m gonna try this weekend.  Now I just have to see if I can actually make a pie dough.  It sure gonna be an interesting experience for me.

4. Number 3 means a market trip for me.  Maybe I got lucky on one of my lottery tickets.  I hit on one of them Tuesday when I checked them.  I won a whole $4.00!  I told the cashier I wanted my winnings in really BIG bills.  Yeh, I got a “Yanno, you’re damn crazy!“look from her.

5. Here’s another view of our weather for today for Miss Anna.  It’s a beautiful 8C (46F) out there right now.  The birds are enjoying the feeders and Mr. Squirrel is gone … for now.  I wondering where my cardinals went and where the Blue Jays are.  They will be a nice sight come winter.

i-b4jxwdp-xl

22 thoughts on “Five for Friday

  1. I have the BEST simple pie crust recipe if you want it! It is grandma-quality and stupid simple… Lemme know. Probably something I should share this time of year, huh? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. For lack of a better way… here it is. Enjoy!

        Elma’s Foolproof Pie Crust

        Ingredients
        4 c. flour
        1 T sugar
        2 t. salt
        1 ¾ c. Crisco
        1 T white vinegar
        1 egg
        ½ c. water

        With pastry blender mix together the first 4 ingredients until well combined. In a separate bowl, combine vinegar, egg and water. Whisk well. Combine the two mixtures stirring with a fork until all ingredients are moistened. With your hands, mold into a ball. Cover with clear wrap and chill at least 15 minutes before rolling. Makes 2 large pie crusts

        Food processor method: In a medium bowl, combine vinegar, egg and water and mix well. Set aside. In your food processor fitted with a dough hook/blade, combine flour, sugar, salt and Crisco. Pulse until well blended. Add the wet mixture and mix until your dough balls. Remove the dough and form into a ball. Cover with clear wrap and chill at least 15 minutes before rolling. Makes 2 large pie crusts.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.